Third-year students: welcome to the world of microbes.

This is a special message to the third-year students of the Faculty of Pharmacy, Cairo University.

In the next few lines, I hope to introduce you to this weblog (created in February 2007) that aims to be a learning tool of microbiology and immunology, but also a place where you can express your thoughts about this exciting science and your opinions about the course as well.

Don’t hesitate to comment on every post in this weblog. Don’t hesitate to add information, correct errors, critique the course outline and lectures, etc…

The third year’s first semester is focused on general microbiology, microbial genetics, and immunology (teaching team), while the second semester is a medical microbiology course.

Textbooks I suggest you read are:

You will find at least the first four textbooks in the library.
Otherwise, you can find plenty of good resources online (find links in the blogroll on the right side bar, in this same page). I specially recommend:
Todar’s Online Textbook of Bacteriology
University of South Carolina Microbiology and Immunology Courses

Wait for more details about the course, the lectures, the quizzes, and the labs…
Best of luck this year!

Tags: , , ,

10 Responses to “Third-year students: welcome to the world of microbes.”

  1. Hussein Abdo Says:

    i think we will love micro
    🙂

  2. lenah Says:

    i think that , too

    thanks very much , Dr

    we really need this site

  3. Safaa Abd El Aziz Says:

    God bless you doctor,

    This really made me respect this subject even b4 we start to study it

    GREAT Effort 🙂

  4. Ola Says:

    Thanks very much doctor for providing this way of studying, I think it’s more effective & fun than books.

  5. marwa gamal Says:

    thanks alot
    and hope to be in touch

    i think so : too

  6. Aya Adel Says:

    thanks alooooooooooooot ,dr

  7. RKA Says:

    Yes.. all I hope is that you enjoy studying microbiology and immunology this year. It will help you in all the following Micro courses…

  8. samar kabeel Says:

    My dear colleagues,
    I’m a fourth year student. I’ve been through this course last year and you can’t imagine how the online site makes it better thanks to the efforts of Dr Ramy and other members of third year microbiology team.

    I’m happy to see your activity and that you started loving microbiology.
    I want to remind you to honestly expressing your point of view about the website,the notes and lectures. You can even suggest new ideas. Be sure that Dr Ramy will never be bothered or upset.

    I wish you all good luck

  9. Ayoy Says:

    hi Dr/ Ramy

    I really love this site & I’m sure you did your best to make it
    But honstly
    I don’t know how can this site help me
    i’m sorry I’m sure the proplem from me

    when ch.7 will be on the site?

  10. RKA Says:

    Ayoy,
    this site is not really a “help” for students. It is a place to enjoy learning microbiology, and most information here are not exam subjects.
    So, it can help you if you want to learn and enjoy this science, and you can try to find new info and send it as well.

    As for help related to the third-year microbiology course, there is now a dedicated site on: Egybio Online Courses. Let me know if that one helps you.

Leave a Reply

